Martin Freeman joins The World's End as filming begins

TheWorldsEndposterThe versatile actor Martin Freeman has joined the cast of Simon Pegg, Nick Frost and Edgar Wright's The World's End. Freeman, you may already know, has the lead role as Bilbo Baggins in Peter Jackson's upcoming Hobbit movies and is best known for his role in Love Actually. He most recently appeared on television screens as Dr Watson in the BBC's modern day Sherlock Holmes adaptation, Sherlock.

The World's End is the final part of their Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy (also referred to as the Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy). Pegg, Wright and Frost's excellent black comedy zombie film Shaun of the Dead and the police satire Hot Fuzz were parts 1 and 2 of the trilogy. If the third is anything like as good as these two comic revelations, The World's End is something to watch out for.

Here's the Press Release synopsis in case you missed it:

"20 years after attempting an epic pub crawl, five childhood friends reunite when one of them becomes hell bent on trying the drinking marathon again. They are convinced to stage an encore by mate Gary King, a 40-year old man trapped at the cigarette end of his teens, who drags his reluctant pals to their home town and once again attempts to reach the fabled pub, The World's End. As they attempt to reconcile the past and present, they realise the real struggle is for the future, not just theirs but humankind's. Reaching The World's End is the least of their worries."

Freeman also had small roles in both Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead.

Director Nick Wright has described The World's End as an example of the social science-fiction genre, in the tradition of John Wyndham and Samuel Youd (who wrote under the pseudonym John Christopher). These two British authors frequently explored bizarre, world wide catastrophes where survivors had to deal with a world changed irrevocably and forever. Wyndham's The Day of the Triffids and The Chrysalids and John Christopher's The Death of Grass and the Tripods Trilogy are some famous examples (they are also novels you must read if you haven't already).

Filming on The World's End began in September 2012 in the UK in Garden City.

The World's End is due out 14 August 2013 in the UK and 25 October 2013 in the US.

Related Articles/Posts

Latest comments